This distinguished award is named in honor of Thomas R. Hobson, a lifelong member with outstanding service to the U.S. aerospace community and a committed supporter of the goals and objectives of the Aerospace States Association. Mr. Hobson effectively demonstrated a passionate and genuine desire to advance the U.S. aerospace industry and maintain leadership in advanced manufacturing among aerospace and defense industries at the local, state, and national level. He was a man of great character and insight and possessed wisdom that allowed him to effectively approach tough challenges with innovative and effective solutions. Many in business and government, found him a superb mentor and trusted counselor until his untimely death in June 2014.


The Thomas R. Hobson Distinguished Aerospace Service Award is awarded each year to one individual who has demonstrated exemplary characteristics which bring government, industry and education together to strengthen the aerospace industry for the benefit of a state, territory or region of the United States of America.​

The Thomas R. Hobson Distinguished Aerospace Service Award honors individuals who have displayed outstanding service through a body of achievements that illustrate specific outcomes that have clearly advanced the aerospace and aviation non-partisan mission, goals and objectives of the Aerospace States Association.

The following submission criteria must be included and will be used in determining the nominee's qualifications for receiving the award:

  • Federal aerospace and aviation policy development
  • Research and design funding advocacy
  • Aerospace work force training
  • Aerospace and aviation economic development
  • Science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) education excellence
  • States’ global aerospace marketplace competitiveness

An awardee should also illustrate high characteristics of:

  • Personal integrity/ethical behavior
  • Technical competency
  • Commitment to service
  • Communication


United States citizen or a lawfully admitted permanent resident of the United States/Territories

Must not have won this award in the previous five (5) years

Individuals may be nominated by:

  • A state or territorial Lieutenant Governor, state appointed delegate to ASA, or equivalent 
  • An ASA member of any category (e.g. state chapter, industry member, etc.)
  • A past awardee
  • A former ASA chair person


  1. Nominations open April 1, 2022.
  2. Nominations must be submitted no later than 12:00 AM (EDT) on May 1, 2022.
  3. Nominations received after the designated submission deadline will NOT be considered.  
  4. Please provide a detailed description of why the individual is being nominated and provide specific examples
  5. The recipient of the Thomas R. Hobson Distinguished Aerospace Service Award will be notified by May 31st and the Award will be presented at the ASA Annual Awards Dinner during the Aerospace States Association Annual Meeting and State Aerospace Policy Symposium on June 29, 2022. ​

Questions can be directed to Ross Garelick Bell, ASA Executive Director, at: garelickbell@aerostates.org



Fill out my online form.